Book Review: #TheRealCinderella by Yesenia Vargas

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: A modern-day teenage Cinderella. An all-star varsity basketball player. Will the chemistry disappear when they go from anonymous to face-to-face?

Geeky Ella Reyes is at the bottom of the totem pole at Westwood High. Her ultra-popular stepsisters refuse to be seen with her at school, and every day she comes home to a mountain of chores.

Ella’s only friend (and maybe crush) lives on the other side of her phone’s screen. She and Baller929 know everything about each other, except their real names.

When they have a chance to meet at her school’s Halloween ball, Ella must figure out a way to get there without her stepmom or stepsisters finding out.

Is revealing her identity to Baller929 worth risking the one good thing left in her life? Or is he too good to be true?

Review: Another Cinderella retelling!!! This one is a modern retelling and I really liked it! So the main character named Ella (Daniela actually) has the whole Cinderella package,evil stepsisters, demanding stepmother and an online crush named Baller929.

Continue reading “Book Review: #TheRealCinderella by Yesenia Vargas”
Advertisements

Book Review: Geekerella by Ashley Poston

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: Cinderella goes to the con in this fandom-fueled twist on the classic fairy tale.

Part romance, part love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom. Geek girl Elle Wittimer lives and breathes Starfield, the classic sci-fi series she grew up watching with her late father. So when she sees a cosplay contest for a new Starfieldmovie, she has to enter. The prize? An invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball, and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. With savings from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck (and her dad’s old costume), Elle’s determined to win…unless her stepsisters get there first.

Teen actor Darien Freeman used to live for cons—before he was famous. Now they’re nothing but autographs and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but the Starfield fandom has written him off as just another dumb heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise.

Review: The Cinderella story retelling is one of my favourite types of books and this one is one of my favourites. It combines fandoms with fairytales and celebrity romances as well as the evil stepmother and stepsisters.

Continue reading “Book Review: Geekerella by Ashley Poston”

Book Review: To Best the Boys by Mary Weber

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis:

The task is simple: don a disguise. Survive the Labyrinth. Best the boys.

In a thrilling new fantasy from the bestselling author of the Storm Siren Trilogy, one girl makes a stand against society and enters a world made exclusively for boys.

Every year for the past fifty-four years, the residents of Pinsbury Port have received a mysterious letter inviting all eligible-aged boys to compete for an esteemed scholarship to the all-male Stemwick University. The poorer residents look to see if their names are on the list. The wealthier look to see how likely their sons are to survive. And Rhen Tellur opens it to see if she can derive which substances the ink and parchment are created from, using her father’s microscope.

In the province of Caldon, where women train in wifely duties and men pursue collegiate education, sixteen-year-old Rhen Tellur wants nothing more than to become a scientist. As the poor of her seaside town fall prey to a deadly disease, she and her father work desperately to find a cure. But when her mum succumbs to it as well? Rhen decides to take the future into her own hands—through the annual all-male scholarship competition.

With her cousin, Seleni, by her side, the girls don disguises and enter Mr. Holm’s labyrinth, to best the boys and claim the scholarship prize. Except not everyone is ready for a girl who doesn’t know her place. And not everyone survives the deadly maze.

Welcome to the Labyrinth.

Review: This was the perfect book to drag me out of my book slump! It was exciting and wasn’t as predictable as expected. There were a few twists that totally shocked me and the actual storyline of this book was incredible.

Continue reading “Book Review: To Best the Boys by Mary Weber”

Book Review: The Beast’s Heart by Leife Shallcross

Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis:

I am neither monster nor man—yet I am both.

I am the Beast.

The day I was cursed to this wretched existence was the day I was saved—although it did not feel so at the time.

My redemption sprung from contemptible roots; I am not proud of what I did the day her father happened upon my crumbling, isolated chateau. But if loneliness breeds desperation then I was desperate indeed, and I did what I felt I must. My shameful behaviour was unjustly rewarded.

My Isabeau. She opened my eyes, my mind and my heart; she taught me how to be human again.

And now I might lose her forever.

Review: I definitely give this 5 stars! This book is incredible, there’s just one small thing but otherwise, this book is perfect. I was actually shocked by how much I liked it because this isn’t my usual kind of read but I’m trying more historical contemporary books ( I don’t actually know the genre name, don’t judge me) and so far I haven’t been disappointed by any of them.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Beast’s Heart by Leife Shallcross”

Book Review: Perfected by Kate Birch

Rating: and 1/2 or 3.5

Synopsis: Perfection comes at a price.

As soon as the government passed legislation allowing humans to be genetically engineered and sold as pets, the rich and powerful rushed to own beautiful girls like Ella. Trained from birth to be graceful, demure, and above all, perfect, these “family companions” enter their masters’ homes prepared to live a life of idle luxury.

Ella is happy with her new role as playmate for a congressman’s bubbly young daughter, but she doesn’t expect Penn, the congressman’s handsome and rebellious son. He’s the only person who sees beyond the perfect exterior to the girl within. Falling for him goes against every rule she knows… and the freedom she finds with him is intoxicating.

But when Ella is kidnapped and thrust into the dark underworld lurking beneath her pampered life, she’s faced with an unthinkable choice. Because the only thing more dangerous than staying with Penn’s family is leaving… and if she’s unsuccessful, she’ll face a fate far worse than death.

For fans of Kiera Cass’ Selection series and Lauren DeStefano’s Chemical Garden series, Perfected is a chilling look at what it means to be human, and a stunning celebration of the power of love to set us free, wrapped in a glamorous—and dangerous—bow.

Review: So this book was not what I was expecting. It was kind of like ‘Wither’ by Lauren DeStefano but slightly less disturbing? I’m not sure but to me, this is kind of like The Handmaids Tale but PG/family-friendly. Continue reading “Book Review: Perfected by Kate Birch”

Book Review: Crossfire by Malorie Blackman

Rating:

My songs: All I Ask by Adele (Cover by Samantha Harvey)

These songs are personal to me, they remind me of this book (they may be songs that were popular during the time that I read this, with lyrics that relate to this book or it might just be random)

Synopsis: Years have passed since the love between Sephy – a Cross – and Callum – a Nought – destroyed their world and changed their families and society forever. 

Society appears to be very different now. For the first time ever, a Nought Prime Minister – Tobey Durbridge – is in power. Race and class don’t divide people anymore. But things are never really that easy. 

Because Tobey’s just been framed for murder, and the only way to free himself is to turn to his oldest friend – Callie-Rose. 

Their families divisions run deep, and when two young people are kidnapped, their lives and everything they’ve fought for is put in the firing line. 

And when you’re playing a game as dangerous as this one, it won’t be long before someone gets caught in the crossfire…

Review: Oh my gosh! That was not what I was expecting! I would class myself as an active member of the noughts and crosses fandom and the build-up to this book has been amazing. But this book was not what I expected!! Continue reading “Book Review: Crossfire by Malorie Blackman”

Book Review: The Revolution of Ivy by Amy Engel

Rate:

Song: Gone 2 Long by PRETTYMUCH

These songs are personal to me, they remind me of this book (they may be songs that were popular during the time that I read this, with lyrics that relate to this book or it might just be random)

Synopsis: Ivy Westfall is beyond the fence and she is alone. Abandoned by her family and separated from Bishop Lattimer, Ivy must find a way to survive on her own in a land filled with countless dangers, both human and natural. She has traded a more civilized type of cruelty–forced marriages and murder plots–for the bare-knuckled brutality required to survive outside Westfall’s borders.

But there is hope beyond the fence, as well. And when Bishop reappears in Ivy’s life, she must decide if returning to Westfall to take a final stand for what she believes is right is worth losing everything she’s fought for.

**Spoilers for the Book of Ivy**

Review: This book I just devoured. I read it in one sitting. There is so much that could happen in this book, the possibilities were endless but this book wrapped up the story as a whole. And boy what a story that was. Continue reading “Book Review: The Revolution of Ivy by Amy Engel”