Book Review: Geekerella by Ashley Poston

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: Cinderella goes to the con in this fandom-fueled twist on the classic fairy tale.

Part romance, part love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom. Geek girl Elle Wittimer lives and breathes Starfield, the classic sci-fi series she grew up watching with her late father. So when she sees a cosplay contest for a new Starfieldmovie, she has to enter. The prize? An invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball, and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. With savings from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck (and her dad’s old costume), Elle’s determined to win…unless her stepsisters get there first.

Teen actor Darien Freeman used to live for cons—before he was famous. Now they’re nothing but autographs and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but the Starfield fandom has written him off as just another dumb heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise.

Review: The Cinderella story retelling is one of my favourite types of books and this one is one of my favourites. It combines fandoms with fairytales and celebrity romances as well as the evil stepmother and stepsisters.

Continue reading “Book Review: Geekerella by Ashley Poston”

Book Review: To Best the Boys by Mary Weber

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis:

The task is simple: don a disguise. Survive the Labyrinth. Best the boys.

In a thrilling new fantasy from the bestselling author of the Storm Siren Trilogy, one girl makes a stand against society and enters a world made exclusively for boys.

Every year for the past fifty-four years, the residents of Pinsbury Port have received a mysterious letter inviting all eligible-aged boys to compete for an esteemed scholarship to the all-male Stemwick University. The poorer residents look to see if their names are on the list. The wealthier look to see how likely their sons are to survive. And Rhen Tellur opens it to see if she can derive which substances the ink and parchment are created from, using her father’s microscope.

In the province of Caldon, where women train in wifely duties and men pursue collegiate education, sixteen-year-old Rhen Tellur wants nothing more than to become a scientist. As the poor of her seaside town fall prey to a deadly disease, she and her father work desperately to find a cure. But when her mum succumbs to it as well? Rhen decides to take the future into her own hands—through the annual all-male scholarship competition.

With her cousin, Seleni, by her side, the girls don disguises and enter Mr. Holm’s labyrinth, to best the boys and claim the scholarship prize. Except not everyone is ready for a girl who doesn’t know her place. And not everyone survives the deadly maze.

Welcome to the Labyrinth.

Review: This was the perfect book to drag me out of my book slump! It was exciting and wasn’t as predictable as expected. There were a few twists that totally shocked me and the actual storyline of this book was incredible.

Continue reading “Book Review: To Best the Boys by Mary Weber”

Book Review: The Beast’s Heart by Leife Shallcross

Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis:

I am neither monster nor man—yet I am both.

I am the Beast.

The day I was cursed to this wretched existence was the day I was saved—although it did not feel so at the time.

My redemption sprung from contemptible roots; I am not proud of what I did the day her father happened upon my crumbling, isolated chateau. But if loneliness breeds desperation then I was desperate indeed, and I did what I felt I must. My shameful behaviour was unjustly rewarded.

My Isabeau. She opened my eyes, my mind and my heart; she taught me how to be human again.

And now I might lose her forever.

Review: I definitely give this 5 stars! This book is incredible, there’s just one small thing but otherwise, this book is perfect. I was actually shocked by how much I liked it because this isn’t my usual kind of read but I’m trying more historical contemporary books ( I don’t actually know the genre name, don’t judge me) and so far I haven’t been disappointed by any of them.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Beast’s Heart by Leife Shallcross”

Book Review: Perfected by Kate Birch

Rating: and 1/2 or 3.5

Synopsis: Perfection comes at a price.

As soon as the government passed legislation allowing humans to be genetically engineered and sold as pets, the rich and powerful rushed to own beautiful girls like Ella. Trained from birth to be graceful, demure, and above all, perfect, these “family companions” enter their masters’ homes prepared to live a life of idle luxury.

Ella is happy with her new role as playmate for a congressman’s bubbly young daughter, but she doesn’t expect Penn, the congressman’s handsome and rebellious son. He’s the only person who sees beyond the perfect exterior to the girl within. Falling for him goes against every rule she knows… and the freedom she finds with him is intoxicating.

But when Ella is kidnapped and thrust into the dark underworld lurking beneath her pampered life, she’s faced with an unthinkable choice. Because the only thing more dangerous than staying with Penn’s family is leaving… and if she’s unsuccessful, she’ll face a fate far worse than death.

For fans of Kiera Cass’ Selection series and Lauren DeStefano’s Chemical Garden series, Perfected is a chilling look at what it means to be human, and a stunning celebration of the power of love to set us free, wrapped in a glamorous—and dangerous—bow.

Review: So this book was not what I was expecting. It was kind of like ‘Wither’ by Lauren DeStefano but slightly less disturbing? I’m not sure but to me, this is kind of like The Handmaids Tale but PG/family-friendly. Continue reading “Book Review: Perfected by Kate Birch”

Book Review: Crossfire by Malorie Blackman

Rating:

My songs: All I Ask by Adele (Cover by Samantha Harvey)

These songs are personal to me, they remind me of this book (they may be songs that were popular during the time that I read this, with lyrics that relate to this book or it might just be random)

Synopsis: Years have passed since the love between Sephy – a Cross – and Callum – a Nought – destroyed their world and changed their families and society forever. 

Society appears to be very different now. For the first time ever, a Nought Prime Minister – Tobey Durbridge – is in power. Race and class don’t divide people anymore. But things are never really that easy. 

Because Tobey’s just been framed for murder, and the only way to free himself is to turn to his oldest friend – Callie-Rose. 

Their families divisions run deep, and when two young people are kidnapped, their lives and everything they’ve fought for is put in the firing line. 

And when you’re playing a game as dangerous as this one, it won’t be long before someone gets caught in the crossfire…

Review: Oh my gosh! That was not what I was expecting! I would class myself as an active member of the noughts and crosses fandom and the build-up to this book has been amazing. But this book was not what I expected!! Continue reading “Book Review: Crossfire by Malorie Blackman”

Book Review: The Revolution of Ivy by Amy Engel

Rate:

Song: Gone 2 Long by PRETTYMUCH

These songs are personal to me, they remind me of this book (they may be songs that were popular during the time that I read this, with lyrics that relate to this book or it might just be random)

Synopsis: Ivy Westfall is beyond the fence and she is alone. Abandoned by her family and separated from Bishop Lattimer, Ivy must find a way to survive on her own in a land filled with countless dangers, both human and natural. She has traded a more civilized type of cruelty–forced marriages and murder plots–for the bare-knuckled brutality required to survive outside Westfall’s borders.

But there is hope beyond the fence, as well. And when Bishop reappears in Ivy’s life, she must decide if returning to Westfall to take a final stand for what she believes is right is worth losing everything she’s fought for.

**Spoilers for the Book of Ivy**

Review: This book I just devoured. I read it in one sitting. There is so much that could happen in this book, the possibilities were endless but this book wrapped up the story as a whole. And boy what a story that was. Continue reading “Book Review: The Revolution of Ivy by Amy Engel”

Book Review: The Until Midnight Series by Erin Bedford

So I’m going to review all 3 books in this trilogy in one review because why not. Obviously, there are spoilers in review for book 2 and 3 for the previous book(s). My reviews are also going to be a tad shorter than usual.

Until Midnight

My Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis: This fairy tale has no happy endings only dark beginnings.  They call them the Crimson Fold. High up in their castle they look down on my little world and wield a silent control. That is, until the invitations are sent out.  I never dreamed I’d be selected. They tell me it’s a privilege. I should be honored. But the fear in their eyes doesn’t lie.  If I refuse to go, my family will be shunned. If I go, my life and my body will no longer be mine. It’ll be theirs.  At midnight it will be over. At Midnight I’ll be his.

Review for Until Midnight : Oooh!!!!! This book was amazing! This is my first time ever entering the vampire genre (books and films, I’ve never read or watched them as they are always mainstream and I don’t want to follow the crowd). This book mainly focuses on vampires near the end but don’t worry we have a lot of drama before that! Continue reading “Book Review: The Until Midnight Series by Erin Bedford”

Book Review: Callum & Harper by Fisher Amelie

My Rating: ★★★★ and 1/2 or 4.5

Synopsis: Life sucks for orphans Callum Tate and Harper Bailey.  Kicked out of their foster homes because they suffer the ‘eighteen disease’ with nothing but a hundred dollar check from the government and a pat on the back, they’re forced to rely on a system that failed them miserably.  So they sit. They sit inside Social Services, waiting for their social workers to call their names and offer them the miracle they know will never come but they sit anyway because they have nowhere else to go, no other options on their very literal and figurative empty plates. But as they sit, they notice the other. Although captivated, they each come to the conclusion that life is complicated enough without throwing in a boiling tension that can’t ever be acted upon because they’re both too busy thinking about where their next meal will come from but when their names are called and both are placed on a year long waiting list for permanent housing, suddenly relying on each other seems like a very viable plan B.  And, oh, how lovely Plan B’s can be.  Well, except for the psycho from Harper’s past that haunts her and, oh, yeah, there’s the little issue that neither of them knows they’re in love with the other.  Needless to say, Callum & Harper’s life just got a bit more complicated.

“One day, you and I are gonna’ wake up and be alright. Maybe not today, maybe not tomorrow but one day. One day. I promise you.” – Callum Tate

Review: This book killed me. I don’t know how I didn’t die from heartbreak! Callum and Harper was so emotional but also shows the strength in the main characters. There was definitely a lot of suspense and tension in this book but my almost heart failure was worth it. Continue reading “Book Review: Callum & Harper by Fisher Amelie”